Free Technology Classroom Organizer

Standard

I have to admit before I post that I have a slight control issue! I love organization and spreadsheets and planning 🙂  Anything in my house that can utilize a spreadsheet does, including my recent trip to Disney World.  It’s just my nature to be in control and while most times it adds more stress to my life (because of the quest for perfection) I just can’t stop myself.  My husband has learned to deal with all my control issues and need to excessively plan, but I am not sure how I am going to function in a elementary classroom.  I am rational enough to realize I have a problem, but still doesn’t slow me down.  So getting to the actual post, this technology is right up my alley.

Being the control/organization freak that I am I have fears of kids losing/destroying books in my classroom library.  Here is a picture of what my ideal classroom library would look like

See how organized!!

I found this picture here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/katy_bird/7558373652/

and here is how I fear my classroom library will look

AHHHH!!!

I found this picture here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/alysser/2011022884/

So my point of this post is this AMAZING technology I found to help over-organizers like myself.  It is called Classroom Organizer.  This free tool allows you to keep inventory of your books and use your smartphone or ipad to check out books.  I LOVE THIS!!

You start by scanning or inputting the books into your library database and adding your students names to the account.  Then each student can check out the pre-determined amount of books and return them as they finish.

It might seem like a lot of work to begin with, but I think this could be a valuable tool for classroom organization.  I can’t wait to implement this into my own classroom soon.

Check out the website at http://classroom.booksource.com/

One response »

  1. That’s a really great way to organize things! I cringe when I see my preschoolers manhandling my books 🙂 Luckily, I get them cheap from Scholastic, and I keep my hardback picture books for story time, or when I can sit with the kids!

Leave a comment